Skip to main content

Honorary freeman freedom of the borough and Blackpool Medal

Honorary freemen

Honorary freeman is the title given to persons which the council has formally honoured in recognition of services to the borough Honorary Freeman of the Borough
Date of admission Name of Honorary Freemen

19 June 1897

William Henry Cocker Esq JP (deceased)

19 November 1907

Joseph Heap Esq JP (deceased)

6 February 1912

John Bickerstaffe Esq JP (deceased)
James Fish Esq JP (deceased)

16 November 1914

James Ward Esq JP (deceased)
Robert Butcher Mather Esq JP (deceased)

3 November 1915

John Grime Esq JP (deceased)
James Heyes Esq JP (deceased)

6 August 1918

The Rt. Hon David Lloyd George PC MP (deceased)

2 August 1922

Colonel (Honorary Brigadier-General) Thomas Edward Topping CB CMG DSO TD ADC (deceased)

4 August 1926

Thomas Bickerstaffe Esq JP (Jubilee Mayor) (deceased)
Sir Lindsay Parkinson JP (deceased)
William Henry Broadhead Esq JP (deceased)

3 October 1928

Henry Brown Esq JP (deceased)
Samuel Hill Esq JP (deceased)
John Collins Esq JP (deceased)
Thomas Fielding Esq JP (deceased)

1 August 1934

The Right Hon. Edward George Villiers Stanley 17th Earl of Derby KG PC GCB GCVO (deceased)

23 March 1937

The Baron Stamp GCB GBE LLD DSc FBA (deceased)

31 January 1938

Sir Cuthbert Cartwright Grundy JP RCA RI RWA RDS FLS (deceased)

4 September 1946

The Rt. Hon. Sir Winston S Churchill KG OM CH MP (deceased)

21 July 1948

Field Marshall The Viscount Montgomery of Alamein KG GCB DSO (deceased)

3 March 1950

Eli Hey Howe Esq JP (deceased)
Tom Gallon Lumb Esq JP (deceased)
Thomas Fenton Esq JP (deceased)
Sir Harold R Grime JP (deceased)

2 May 1973

Rhodes William Marshall Esq (deceased)
Harold Grimbledeston Esq BEM JP (deceased)
Ernest Alfred Machin Esq CBE JP (deceased)
Joseph Shepherd Richardson Esq CBE JP (deceased)
Leonard Broughton Esq DL (deceased)

25 June 1984

Raymond Jacobs Esq MBE (deceased)
Walter Uriah Robinson Esq (deceased)
Harold Leslie Hoyle Esq MBE (deceased)
Percy Patrick Hall Esq JP (deceased)

29 November 1989

Stanley Harding Mortensen (deceased)

9 April 2003

Lilian Doris Thompson OBE JP (deceased)
James Christopher Armfield OBE (deceased)

Freedom of the Borough

Freedom of the Borough is the right, honour and distinction of exercising all customary regimental privileges when parading in or passing through the streets of the County Borough on ceremonial occasions.

Recipients of freedom of the borough
 Date of admission  Freedom of the Borough recipient

R (Blackpool) Battery, 288 (2nd West Lancashire) Light Anti-Aircraft Regiment Royal Artillery, Territorial Army

1990 HMS Penelope (warship)
2005 12th Regiment Royal Artillery
2017 The Duke of Lancaster’s Regiment
  An affiliation with HMS Triumph (submarine)

Blackpool Medal

Blackpool Medal recipients
 Date of admission  Blackpool Medal recipient
2008 Shelley Woods                                                                                                                                                      
2010 Blackpool Football Club
2012 Major Jim Houldsworth (deceased)