Skip to main content

The Town's Fund provides an opportunity for Blackpool to agree a Town Deal with the Ministry of Housing, Communities and Local Government (MHCLG) and to benefit from significant investment - up to £25m.

It is a condition of the Town's Fund that Blackpool Council set up a Town Deal Board.

The membership and role of the board is to:

  • Develop and agree an evidenced-based Town Investment Plan
  • Develop a clear programme of interventions 
  • Coordinate resources and influence stakeholders 

The board is not a legal entity, its role is advisory. Its purpose is to work with Blackpool Council, to which it is accountable as the lead council, to produce a well-evidenced Town Investment Plan which sets out a clear understanding of Blackpool, focusing on assets, opportunities and challenges which will help to create a business case to secure Town Deal funding. 

Members of the Blackpool Town Deal board

List of Town Deal Board Members

Name Company   

Paul Smith (Chair)

BITC Pride of Place 

Scott Benton MP  

Blackpool South 

Anna Blackburn  


Linton Brown 

Blackpool Football Club

Dick Cartmell 

Together Lancashire 

Alan Cavill  

Blackpool Council 

Jane Cole 

Blackpool Transport 

Steve Fogg 

Lancashire LEP

David Gaffney 

Arts Council England 

Tracy Hopkins

Blackpool Fylde & Wyre VCFS

Neil Jack 

Blackpool Council 

Paul Maynard MP

Blackpool North 

Kevin McGee

Blackpool Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Heather Murray 


Nick Payne 


Tina Redford 

Left Coast 

Bev Robinson 

Blackpool & The Fylde College 

Kate Shane 


Peter Swann 


Steve Williams 

 Force Technology