Skip to main content

Blue Badge disabled parking

The Blue Badge (Disabled Persons) Parking Scheme is a national scheme that allows disabled people in England to maintain their independence by enabling them to park as close as possible to their destination.

Blackpool Council runs the scheme for Blackpool residents on behalf of the Department for Transport. They provide guidance and information on how to run and enforce the scheme.

From 30 August 2019, the government extended the Blue Badge eligibility criteria to people who have less visible disabilities, making journeys more accessible. Whilst more people will be eligible for a blue badge, not everyone with non-physical disabilities will qualify based on the guidelines and criteria.

You are now able to apply for “hidden” or “non-physical” conditions or disabilities.

Please see the government rules for using blue badges in England.

If you visit Scotland, Wales or Northern Ireland the rules will be different and you will need to look at their guidelines

Blue Badge eligibility

On the 30 August the government extended the Blue Badge eligibility criteria.

An individual's eligibility for a Blue Badge is considered in terms of being :

  • Eligible without further assessment, previously known as automatic
  • Eligible subject to further assessment, previously known as discretionary

Type 1: Eligible without further assessment

  • Receives the Higher Rate of the Mobility Component of the Disability Living Allowance (HRMCDLA); or
  • Receives 8 points or more under the “moving around” activity of the mobility component of Personal Independence Payment (PIP); or
  • Receives the mobility component of PIP and has obtained 10 points specifically for Descriptor E under the “planning and following journeys” activity, on the grounds that they are unable to undertake any journey because it would cause them overwhelming psychological distress; or
  • Is registered blind (severely sight impaired); or∙ Receives a War Pensioner's Mobility Supplement (WPMS); or
  • Has been both awarded a lump sum benefit at tariffs 1-8 of the Armed Forces Compensation Scheme and certified as having an enduring and substantial disability which causes inability to walk or very considerable difficulty in walking

Type 2: Eligible subject to further assessment

People who may be issued with a badge after further assessment are those who are more than two years old and may be described as one or more of the following:∙

  • A person who drives a vehicle regularly, has a severe disability in both arms and is unable to operate, or has considerable difficulty in operating, all or some types of parking meter; or
  • A person who has been certified as having an enduring and substantial disability which causes them, during the course of a journey, to:
    • Be unable to walk
    • Experience very considerable difficulty whilst walking, which may include very considerable psychological distress; or
    • Be at risk of serious harm when walking; or pose, when walking, a risk of serious harm to any other person

Any of the above three types of difficulty whilst walking could potentially be caused by a physical disability, or by a ‘non-physical’ disability. In either case, the disability experienced by the applicant must endure for at least three years.

Having a certain condition or disability does not automatically entitle somebody to a Blue Badge.

In addition, children under the age of three may be eligible for a badge if they fall within either or both of the following descriptions:

  • A child who, on account of a condition, must always be accompanied by bulky medical equipment which cannot be carried around with the child without great difficulty
  • A child who, on account of a condition, must always be kept near a motor vehicle so that, if necessary, treatment for that condition can be given in the vehicle or the child can be taken quickly in the vehicle to a place where such treatment can be given

Apply for or renew a Blue Badge