European elections

The will be elections for the European Parliament of Thursday 23 May 2019.

Blackpool is part of the North West of England constituency of the European Parliament. The North West constituency has eight Members of European Parliament (MEPs) with an official term of office of five years. Elections for the European Parliament are held every five years.

Local elections

There was an election on Thursday 2 May 2019 for all 21 wards

Blackpool is divided into 21 areas or ‘wards’, each having 2 elected ward councillors.

Results of the local elections held on Thursday 7 May 2015.

Parliamentary elections

to vote for local Members of Parliament (MP) took place on Thursday 8 June 2017.
Blackpool is divided into two parliamentary constituencies, Blackpool North and Cleveleys and Blackpool South, each with one MP.


A by-election was held in the Warbreck ward on Thursday 16 March 2017.


The referendum on the UK’s membership of the European Union took place on 23 June 2016.

Police and Crime Commissioner

The Lancashire Police Crime Commissioner is responsible for ensuring that the policing needs of Lancashire communities are met as effectively as possible. More information about the Police Crime Commissioner can be found on the website.

The last Police and Crime Commissioner election took place on Thursday 5 May 2016.

Information about the election can be found online at or via the national helpline on 0800 107 07 08.

handle bar template